© Touristinformation Piesport

Nikolauskapelle Reinsport

  • Piesport

Reinsport is mentioned in an inspection report dating from the year 1569 as belonging to the parish of Emmel. The chapel was built in 1616 and consecrated in 1679. The building has suffered from flood waters on various occasions.

Inside, there is a high altar made of wood with a carved figure of Nicolas between turned columns adorned with flowers and leaves and decorative flourishes, bordering the crowning open gable with the pietà.
The pietà from the mid-17th century shows the 14 auxiliary saints with an image of Mary in the centre and the inscription NOS CUM PROLE PIA BENEDICAT VIRGO MARIA (Mary with the blessed child, bestow your blessings upon us all). This wooden altar displaying the auxiliary saints was acquired by the then parson Mr. Schuhbach in an auction of artifacts from a former monastery church in the Rheingau region. In affection to Reinsport, a traditional fishing village, the Piesport fishing club graciously takes care of the maintenance of the chapel.

On the map

Heinrich-Schmitt-Platz 1

54498 Piesport

DE


Phone: (0049) 6507 2027

E-mail:

General information

Openings
Saturday, 26.11.2022 00:00 - 00:00
Sunday, 27.11.2022 00:00 - 00:00
Monday, 28.11.2022 00:00 - 00:00
Tuesday, 29.11.2022 00:00 - 00:00
Wednesday, 30.11.2022 00:00 - 00:00
Thursday, 01.12.2022 00:00 - 00:00
Friday, 02.12.2022 00:00 - 00:00
Saturday, 03.12.2022 00:00 - 00:00
Sunday, 04.12.2022 00:00 - 00:00
Monday, 05.12.2022 00:00 - 00:00

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.