© Saar-Obermosel-Touristik www.saar-obermosel.de

Culture plateau

  • Kastel-Staadt
In hardly any other place like Kastel-Staadt can history be experienced so closely. A large settlement of the Celtic Treverians was located on the rocky spur high above the Saar. As an important centre for trade, handicrafts and public life, Kastel was one of the first town-like settlements in Central Europe and was used as such continuously until Roman times. Due to its outstanding significance for the history of the region, the plateau has been designated as a monument zone and excavation conservation area since 1997. There is much to discover on the cultural plateau: among others, the Klause, the cemetery of honour, the Roman theatre, the old village church and the Elisensitz. A hike on the Kasteler Felsenpfad with a climb on the Altfels or a walk through the archaeological adventure trail round off the excursion.

On the map

54441 Kastel-Staadt

DE


Phone: 0049 6581 995980

E-mail:

Website: www.saar-obermosel.de

General information

Openings
Saturday, 20.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Sunday, 21.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Monday, 22.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Tuesday, 23.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Wednesday, 24.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Thursday, 25.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Friday, 26.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Saturday, 27.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Sunday, 28.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Monday, 29.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
The cultural plateau in Kastel-Staadt is freely accessible and can be visited at any time.

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.