© C. Arnoldi

Karlsbader Platz

  • Bernkastel-Kues

The partnership between Bernkastel-Kues and Karlovy Vary (Karlsbad) in the Czech Republic began in 2000. This is how the “Karlsbaderplatz”, opened in July 2005, got its name.

Bernkastel-Kues and the famous spa town of Karlsbad in the Czech Republic have cultivated a lively partnership for more than 10 years. Various circles of friends and a very active local partner association are prove of this. Apart from that, a whole square is dedicated to the wonderful partner city: the “Karlsbader Platz” in Bernkastel district, directly behind the building of the tourist information centre. The fountain on the Karlsbader Platz is a gift from our Czech partners; its counterpart is located at the plague column in Karlovy Vary. The plastic symbolizes eternal life - day and night. The girl's face symbolizes the day, the boy's face with its closed eyes the night. The two snakes embody eternal power; there are grapes on their bodies. The cascading waterfall with its three levels recalls the eternal cycle: water is a symbol of health, cleanliness and strength.

On the map

Karlsbader Platz, Gestade 6

54470 Bernkastel-Kues

DE


General information

Openings
Sunday, 16.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Monday, 17.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Tuesday, 18.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Wednesday, 19.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Thursday, 20.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Friday, 21.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Saturday, 22.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Sunday, 23.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Monday, 24.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Tuesday, 25.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
The square is accessible at all times

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.