© Marco Rothbrust

Rekonstruktion Lagerstätte Homo erectus

  • Oberfell

On the Bleidenberg in Oberfell is the reconstruction of the Homo erectus camp site. This camp site of Paleolithic man (Homo erectus) is documented by Paleolithic finds, such as simple sharp-edged stone tools, hand axes in gravel layers of the Quaternary period. These finds can be found in glass showcases in the small museum cultural center "Altes Pfarrhaus", Oberfell. On the Bleidenberg there is a reconstruction made of Corten steel: man with spear, woman lighting fire, dwelling and prey animals as well as the forest elephant (4 m shoulder height; 4.5 t heavy sculpture) and a woolly rhinoceros. Interesting is the size comparison between humans and animals as well as the use and production of the simplest tools and weapons. The sculptures and the replica make the history a little more vivid. The cultural site can be explored via the Bleidenberger Ausblicke dream trail as well as via the themed time travel.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

On the map

56332 Oberfell

DE


Phone: 0049 2605 4484

E-mail:

General information

Openings
Thursday, 18.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Friday, 19.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Saturday, 20.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Sunday, 21.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Monday, 22.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Tuesday, 23.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Wednesday, 24.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Thursday, 25.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Friday, 26.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Saturday, 27.07.2024 00:00 - 00:00
The Homo erectus deposit is freely accessible at all times.

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.