© Dieter Ehses

Viewpoint "Graacher Schanzen"

  • Graach

The ''Graacher entrenchments'' are remains of a defence system. The system of the entrenchments were build in the 18th century. Prussian and Austrian troops entrenched themselfes against the invading french revolutionary army.

Key element were the ''Graacher entrenchments''. They are sited on the highest and smallest spot of the plateau of the long Moselle sloop which reaches from Bernkastel to Trarbach. The defence system was supposed to preserve the Moselle skid against assailants of the Hunsrück region. The ''Graacher entrenchments'' with its gun emplacement and outlying estate is a special and rare military building - because there never fell a shot!

 

On the map

Aussichtspunkt auf dem Plateau der Moselschleife

54470 Graach

DE


General information

Openings
Tuesday, 18.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Wednesday, 19.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Thursday, 20.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Friday, 21.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Saturday, 22.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Sunday, 23.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Monday, 24.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Tuesday, 25.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Wednesday, 26.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00
Thursday, 27.06.2024 00:00 - 00:00

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.